Books about Love and Friendship

Updated: Jan 24

February is a wonderful month to teach kids about love and friendship. It's the month we celebrate Valentine's Day, making it the perfect month to find all things related to love and friendship.

This post may contain affiliate links and I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases.


Your children have been hearing "I Love You" since the day they were born, but what is love? Below is a list of ten beautiful, sweet, and hilarious stories inspired by love and friendship that can help expand your child's understanding of the meaning of love and why is it important to have a love for ourselves and love for others.



I Love You and Cheese Pizza

by Brenda Li


Brian thinks that all he loves is cheese pizza, but with each turning page the reader will find out that all along, unknowingly, Brian had been showing love in many different ways. I Love You and Cheese Pizza is a hilarious story that teaches children about kindness, gratitude, forgiveness, and love.

$0.00 KindleUnlimited




Love is My Favorite Thing

by Emma Chichester Clark


Love is My Favorite Thing is based on Emma Chichester's own dog. The star of this story is Plum, a dog whose love knows no bounds. She has many favorite things, like catching sticks, her bear, and her bed, but her absolute favorite thing is LOVE.







Here Comes Valentine Cat

by Deborah Underwood

There are many reasons why Cat doesn't like Valentine's Day, just as there are many reasons why he doesn't like his new neighbor. He will absolutely not be making his new neighbor, Dog, a valentine. Readers will love this story that teaches about being too quick to judge.


Here Comes Valentine Cat is a heartwarming hilarious story about the New York Times Bestselling Cat. It is a beautifully illustrated book, perfect for fans of Pete the Cat, Bad Kitty, Elephant and Piggie Books, and Here Comes Santa Cat.




Groggle's Monster Valentine

by Diana Murray


Groggle Monster has been working hard making a Valentine's Day card for his best friend in the whole wide world, Snarlina. There is just one problem, he can't stop eating his Valentine's Day creations meant for his bestie. Will he be able to give his friend a Valentine?








Love Monster and The Last Chocolate

by Rachel bright


Love Monster has been surprised by a box of chocolates on his doorstep. Should he share the chocolates with his friends? He worries he won't have any chocolates left for himself if he shares. Parents and teachers say that Love Monster and The last Chocolate is a lovely and engaging book. It makes a great Valentine's Day read-aloud!






Love, Splat

by Rob Scotton



Lovable Splat the cat wants to become friends with Kitten, but he is too shy to talk to her. Valentine's Day might be the perfect opportunity to talk to Kitten. Love, Splat is an adorable book that's perfect for an interactive storytime.

$0.00 AudioBook






In My Heart

by Jo Witek


In My Heart is a New York Times bestselling picture book!

Feelings come in all shapes and sizes. Our hearts can feel so many feelings, some feelings make us feel as light as a feather, while other feelings make us feel as heavy as a house. In My Heart does a wonderful job at exploring and describing the wide range of emotions we feel. It is an excellent children's book to help children practice articulating and identifying their emotions.




I Love You Always

by Marianne Richmond

Reading Age: 2 - 8 years


A USA Today Bestseller!

I Love You Always is a perfect addition to your family library! Celebrate and explore with your child how love surrounds us no matter what we do or where we are.









A Little Spot of Love

by Diane Alber

Reading Age: 5 - 7 years


From the A Little Spot of Emotions series, comes A Little Spot of Love. Grow you Little Spot of Love. The Love Spot will guide you through all the ways you can express love. This book does a fantastic job at helping children visualize the emotion and learn how they can Grow Their Love Spot!

$0.00 KindleUnlimited




I am You: A Book About Ubuntu

by Refiloe Moahloli

Reading Age: 3 - 7 years

"We may be different, but our hearts beat the same"

Ubuntu comes from a South African belief that we are connected. No matter who or where we are, I am you and you are me. The illustrations are beautiful. The text is lyrical and simple. Both my children, ages 9 and 4, were captivated by the beauty in the texts and were intrigued by the idea that we are all connected. I Am You is a great addition to your classroom or homeschool library that brings a beautiful message about empathy, diversity, and self-love.



Happy Reading!




25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All