top of page

Engaging Chapter Books for 8 to 10-Year-Old Boys

Updated: Feb 2

Once your child begins to read the texts and you feel that your child is ready for chapter books, it's time to look for chapter books that will capture their attention and interest them. It usually begins with the title and cover. They will want something they can relate to, such as the main character that has things in common with them.


I wanted to make a post dedicated to chapter books that I believe most boys from the ages of eight to ten will enjoy. Books they can relate to like having a boy main character who is around the same age. Books about things they love or enjoy such as animals, video games, or characters they love.


In this post, I have included some of my favorite chapter books for boys in 3rd and 4th grade. Books my son has read and truly enjoyed.


This post may contain affiliate links and I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases

Chapter books for boys

Chapter Books for Boys:

by Rick Riordan


Percy Jackson is a light-hearted fantasy about a 12-year-old boy named Percy who learns that his father is Poseidon, the Greek god of the sea, he journeys to become a hero accepting a quest to stop a war between the gods.

by W. Bruce Cameron

Inspired by the New York Times bestselling A Dog's Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron


Bailey's Story is a moving tale told from the perspective of a golden retriever. Bailey is a curious puppy who quickly discovers his purpose is to spend all his time with his boy, Ethan. He loves nothing more than to play and explore with his eight-year-old best friend. Bailey also learns that sometimes bad things happen, and there is no greater purpose than to protect his precious human.

Bonus: At the end of the book there is a discussion and activity guide.

Steven K. Smith

Derek and Sam are brothers who have just moved to Virginia with their family. As they explore their old house and the mysterious woods, they discover a long-time mystery of a stolen coin collection. Their summer is full of mystery and adventure!

by Dustin Brady


A book for kids who love video games!


In this story, Jesse Rigsby gets sucked into a new game Full Blast along with his friend Eric. They must quickly figure things out before they are trapped for good.

by Wilson Rawls

Memorable, filled with heart, humor, and excitement!

Summer of the Monkeys is a timeless adventure about a fourteen-year-old boy who discovers a tree full of monkeys. He learns that the monkeys had escaped from a traveling circus, and he is determined to catch them in order to receive the reward money in order to help his family. By the end of the summer, he will have learned more than just about monkeys.

by Tracey Hecht

Perfect for fans of Wish, Pax, and Wild Kratts!

In this fun-filled chapter book, three unlikely animals work together to solve unpredictable mysteries. The Nocturnals is full of humor. Dawn, the serious fox, Tobin, the sweet pangolin, and Bismark, a small sugar glider, use their teamwork to find out why animals are disappearing.

by Joe Schreiber


For the young Star Wars fans!

Is your child a fan of Star Wars? The Mandalorian Junior Novel is the book adaptation of Disney's Mandalorian Season One, geared toward a younger audience. It's described as interesting, mesmerizing, and easy to follow. My 9-year-old agrees!

by Rosanne Parry



A New York Times bestseller!

Parents and children rave about this beautifully illustrated book inspired by the true story of a wolf named Journey. In this New York Times bestseller, Swift is a wolf who goes through an incredible journey to find his new home. This is a book that is also very informative about wolves. Your child will learn all about wolves from the perspective of a wolf. How wolves live, what wolves eat, etc.

by Tracy West


A great choice for kids who have just started to read independently. Dragon Masters is a book series about young dragon masters who must connect, train, and uncover their dragon's hidden powers.

by Peter Brown


A great choice for kids who love robots! This is a captivating book that tells the story of a robot who finds herself stranded on a remote island with no idea how she got there. She learns to adapt to her surroundings and befriends other creatures on her journey.

by T.Z. Layton

Perfect for sports fans!

This inspiring and captivating series is tailored for young readers aged 7 to 13 and promises an engaging journey for sports enthusiasts of all ages. When a professional scout discovers Leo's talent during a local game, he receives a life-changing invitation to try out for The Academy, the youth squad of the renowned London Dragons, an English Premier League team. Leo faces the challenge of competing against two hundred top-tier youth players, navigating bullies, an unenthusiastic roommate, a strict camp director, and his own lack of formal training.

Happy Reading!







414 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page