Chapter Books for 8 - 10 Year Old Boys



Once your child begins to read the texts and you feel that your child is ready for chapter books, it's time to look for chapter books that will capture their attention and interest them. It usually begins with the title and cover. They will want something they can relate to, such as the main character that has things in common with them.


I wanted to make a post dedicated to chapter books that I believe most boys from the ages of eight to ten will enjoy. Books they can relate to like having a boy main character who is around the same age. Books about things they love or enjoy such as animals, video games, or characters they love.


In this post, I have included some of my favorite chapter books for boys in 3rd and 4th grade. Books my own son has read and truly enjoyed. *This post may contain affiliate links and I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases*

Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Lightning Thief

by: Rick Riordan

Reading age: 9 - 12 years


Percy Jackson is a light-hearted fantasy about a 12-year-old boy named Percy who learns that his father is Poseidon, the Greek god of the sea, he journeys to become a hero accepting a quest to stop a war between the gods.



Bailey's Story: A Puppy Tale

by: W. Bruce Cameron

Reading age: 8 - 10 years

Inspired by the New York Times bestselling A Dog's Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron


Bailey's Story is a moving tale told from the perspective of a golden retriever. Bailey is a curious puppy that quickly discovers his purpose is to spend all his time with his boy, Ethan. He loves nothing more than to play and explore with his eight-year-old best friend. Bailey also learns that sometimes bad things happen, and there is no greater purpose than to protect his precious human.


Bonus: At the end of the book there is a discussion and activity guide.


Summer of The Woods

by Steven K. Smith

Reading age: 7 - 10 years


Derek and Sam are brothers who have just moved to Virginia with their family. As they explore their old house and the mysterious woods, they discover a long-time mystery of a stolen coin collection. Their summer is full of mystery and adventure!



Trapped in a Video Game

by Dustin Brady

Reading age: 8 - 10 years


A book for kids who love video games!


In this story, Jesse Rigsby gets sucked into a new game Full Blast along with his friend Eric. They must quickly figure things out before they are trapped for good.



Summer of the Monkeys

by Wilson Rawls

Reading age: 8 - 12 years

Memorable, filled with heart, humor, and excitement!

Summer of the Monkeys is a timeless adventure about a fourteen-year-old boy who discovers a tree full of monkeys. He learns that the monkeys had escaped from a traveling circus, and he is determined to catch them in order to receive the reward money in order to help his family. By the end of the summer, he will have learned more than just about monkeys.

Teachers Pick!


The Nocturnals: The Mysterious Abductions

by Tracey Hecht

Reading age: 6 -9 years


Perfect for fans of Wish, Pax, and Wild Kratts!


In this fun-filled chapter book, three unlikely animals work together to solve unpredictable mysteries. The Nocturnals is full of humor. Dawn, the serious fox, Tobin, the sweet pangolin, and Bismark, a small sugar glider, use their teamwork to find out why animals are disappearing.

Free with Audible trial


The Mandolorian Junior Novel

by Joe Schreiber

Reading age: 8-12 years


For the young Star Wars fans!

Is your child a fan of Star Wars? The Mandalorian Junior Novel is the book adaptation of Disney's Mandalorian Season one, geared toward a younger audience. It's described as interesting, mesmerizing, and easy to follow. My 9-year-old agrees!




A Wolf Called Wonder

by Rosanne Parry

Reading age: 8 - 11 years



A New York Times bestseller!

Parents and children rave about this beautifully illustrated book inspired by the true story of a wolf named Journey. In this New York Times bestseller, Swift is a wolf that goes through an incredible journey to find his new home. This is a book that is also very informative about wolves. Your child will learn all about wolves from the perspective of a wolf. How wolves live, what wolves eat, etc.



Dragon Masters Series

by Tracy West

Reading age: 6-8 years




A great choice for kids who have just started to read independently. Dragon Masters is a book series about young dragon masters who must connect, train, and uncover their dragon's hidden powers.



The Wild Robot

by Peter Brown

Reading age: 7 -10 years


A great choice for kids who love robots! This is a captivating book that tells the story of a robot who finds herself stranded on a remote island with no idea how she got there. She learns to adapt to her surroundings and befriends other creatures on her journey.


Happy Reading!






32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All