top of page

Summer Reading for Tweens: Chapter Books for Kids to Dive into this Summer

Updated: Jan 11


Are you looking for the perfect chapter books for tweens to read this summer? If so, you’ve come to the right place. Summer is the perfect time for kids to get lost in a great book, and these chapter books for tweens are sure to capture their imaginations. From coming-of-age stories to fantastical adventures, these summer chapter books for kids have something for everyone. Whether your tween is an experienced reader or just starting out, these summer books for tweens will provide an enjoyable and educational reading experience.


This post may contain affiliate links and I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases
Summer Chapter Books for Kids Tweens 4th grade

Fun Summer Reading for Tweens


by Steven K. Smith


Derek and Sam are brothers who have just moved to Virginia with their family. As they explore their old house and the mysterious woods, they discover a long-time mystery of a stolen coin collection. Their summer is full of mystery and adventure!

by Lisa McMann

As you're putting together your summer chapter book reading list for kids, don't overlook the thrilling adventure of Map of Flames by Lisa McMann. This book will appeal to kids who love superheroes and action-packed stories. The book tells the story of five kids, each with their own unique superpowers, who are left to fend for themselves after their criminal parents disappear or are presumed dead.

When Birdie, one of the five children, discovers a map among her father's belongings, it sets off a chain of events that leads the group to Estero City, a place they've only heard about. With the goal of finding their mother and giving her the map, the kids must navigate a strange new world where being supernatural is a crime.


by Aaron Jonhson

For young readers who love mystery and adventure, Mystery In Rocky Mountain National Park by Aaron Johnson is a must-read. The story follows Jake and his friends as they set out on a scavenger hunt to uncover a centuries-old mystery left behind by Jake's grandfather.

With hidden codes, riddles, maps, and other clues, Jake and his friends navigate the wild and rugged terrain of Colorado's Rocky Mountain National Park. As they work to unravel the mystery, they encounter unexpected obstacles and dangerous challenges, testing their friendship and perseverance.


by W. Bruce Cameron

Inspired by the New York Times bestselling A Dog's Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron


Bailey's Story is a moving tale told from the perspective of a golden retriever. Bailey is a curious puppy that quickly discovers his purpose is to spend all his time with his boy, Ethan. He loves nothing more than to play and explore with his eight-year-old best friend. Bailey also learns that sometimes bad things happen, and there is no greater purpose than to protect his precious human.


Bonus: At the end of the book there is a discussion and activity guide.


by Steven K. Smith

History and adventure!


Sam, Derek, and Caitlin discover letters in a journal that describe a lost collection and missing treasure. They soon realize that those letters were between Thomas Jefferson's granddaughters. When the journal goes missing, the kids are forced to take a walk through history by following in Thomas Jefferson's footsteps at The University of Virginia, his home of Monticello, and Popular Forest. This story is a fantastic complement to history and social studies units!

by Dustin Brady


A book for kids who love video games!


In this story, Jesse Rigsby gets sucked into a new game Full Blast along with his friend Eric. They must quickly figure things out before they are trapped for good.

by Barbara O'Connor



New York Times–bestselling story


Eleven-year-old Charlie is sent to live with family she barely knows in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. Just when all hope seems lost, she learns the true meaning of family with the help of Wishbone the stray dog who captivated her heart, Howard the neighbor, and her big-hearted aunt and uncle. This title has Common Core connections.

by Wilson Rawls

Memorable, filled with heart, humor, and excitement!

Summer of the Monkeys is a timeless adventure about a fourteen-year-old boy who discovers a tree full of monkeys. He learns that the monkeys had escaped from a traveling circus, and he is determined to catch them in order to receive the reward money in order to help his family. By the end of the summer, he will have learned more than just about monkeys.

Teachers Pick!

by Barbara O'Connor

"The other half of me was thinking, Georgina, you're in a bad fix and you got to do whatever it takes to get yourself out of it."

Georgina and her family live in their car. She knows they need more money to find a place to live, and she is determined to improve their situation. Georgina comes up with a plan to "borrow" a dog and wait for the owners to offer a reward. However, she is surprised by what happens next.

by Karen Inglis


Stella and Tom are siblings who have just moved into their new home. They are mystified when they discover the neighbor's dog keeps disappearing. But why does the dog keep reappearing wet-through? Where does he go? Their quest for answers leads them to a secret lake and even more questions. They soon discover that they have traveled back in time.


by Tracey Hecht


Perfect for fans of Wish, Pax, and Wild Kratts!


In this fun-filled chapter book, three unlikely animals work together to solve unpredictable mysteries. The Nocturnals is full of humor. Dawn, the serious fox, Tobin, the sweet pangolin, and Bismark, a small sugar glider, use their teamwork to find out why animals are disappearing. Free with audible trial.

by J M Foster

Teachers Pick!


The Shadow Jumper is a story about family, friendship, loss, bravery, and overcoming adversity. Jack Phillip is allergic to sunshine, causing him serious life-threatening burns if he catches some sun rays. His allergy impedes him from stepping out during the day, but shadow jumping on the rooftops when it's dark makes him feel alive and free. When his condition worsens, only his missing scientist dad can help him. Jack and his friend, Beth, begin their quest to find his father.



by Joe Schreiber


For the young Star Wars fans!

Is your child a fan of Star Wars? The Mandalorian Junior Novel is the book adaptation of Disney's Mandalorian Season one, geared toward a younger audience. It's described as interesting, mesmerizing, and easy to follow. My 9-year-old agrees!



by Rosanne Parry


A New York Times bestseller!

Parents and children rave about this beautifully illustrated book inspired by the true story of a wolf named Journey. In this New York Times bestseller, Swift is a wolf that goes through an incredible journey to find his new home. This is a book that is also very informative about wolves. Your child will learn all about wolves from the perspective of a wolf. How wolves live, what wolves eat, etc.

by Rita Williams-Garcia

In One Crazy Summer, readers are introduced to Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern, three sisters who are spending the summer with their estranged mother in California. The girls had always imagined a fun-filled summer, full of visits to Disneyland and meeting Tinker Bell. However, they soon find themselves in a day camp run by the Black Panthers, where they learn more about their family, their country, and themselves.

Happy Reading!





100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page