top of page

The Best Children's Picture Books to Read During the Month of February

Updated: Dec 31, 2023

Welcome to February! This month is all about love and family, so it's the perfect time to snuggle up with your little ones and share a great children's picture book. Whether you're looking for a classic or something more modern, this blog post has you covered with a list of the best children's picture books to read during February. From heartwarming stories about love to captivating tales of adventure, there's something here for everyone. So get ready to curl up with a good book and enjoy some quality family time this month.


This post may contain affiliate links and I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases.



(Psst... Make sure to download a free copy of our February Reading List )


by Susan Blackaby

Brownie Groundhog steps outside and discovers not one sign of spring and a hungry fox! Determined not to become the fox's next meal, Brownie uses her cleverness to turn the fox into a friend. Brownie Groundhog and the February Fox is a stunning picture book that is a fantastic book to read as springtime approaches.

by Diane Adams


In this heartwarming story, a little girl finds a lost duckling who is far away from the park. She decides to care for it, realizing that the duckling needs constant attention, early morning feedings, baths, and cleaning. One day, when the duck is fully grown, it is time to take it back to the pond. After their goodbye, the little girl misses the duck and wonders if it will remember her. What will happen when the young girl sees the duck again? Love Is teaches young children about the challenges and joys that come with love.

by Brenda Li

Brian thinks that all he loves is cheese pizza, but with each turning page the reader will find out that all along, unknowingly, Brian had been showing love in many different ways. I Love You and Cheese Pizza is a hilarious story that teaches children about kindness, gratitude, forgiveness, and love.

by Leo Lionni

In the middle of Rainbow Pond, there live three selfish frogs who constantly bicker: " It's mine! It's mine! It's mine!" When a big storm rolls along, a big brown toad helps them see how much better it is to share.

by Emma Chichester Clark

Love is My Favorite Thing is based on Emma Chichester's own dog. The star of this story is Plum, a dog whose love knows no bounds. She has many favorite things, like catching sticks, her bear, and her bed, but her absolute favorite thing is LOVE.

by Naaz Khan

A fun count-to-ten lyrical picture book that teaches counting with a theme of inclusion and making room for everyone.


Review:

Khan and López take readers on a uniquely East African journey toward a global sense of compassion and inclusion. -- Kirkus Reviews, STARRED ― September 1, 2021

by Deborah Underwood

There are many reasons why Cat doesn't like Valentine's Day, just as there are many reasons why he doesn't like his new neighbor. He will absolutely not be making his new neighbor, Dog, a Valentine. Readers will love this story that teaches about being too quick to judge.


Here Comes Valentine Cat is a heartwarming hilarious story about the New York Times Bestselling Cat. It is a beautifully illustrated book, perfect for fans of Pete the Cat, Bad Kitty, Elephant and Piggie Books, and Here Comes Santa Cat.


by Diana Murray

Groggle Monster has been working hard making a Valentine's Day card for his best friend in the whole wide world, Snarlina. There is just one problem, he can't stop eating his Valentine's Day creations meant for his bestie. Will he be able to give his friend a Valentine?


by Rachel bright

Love Monster has been surprised by a box of chocolates on his doorstep. Should he share the chocolates with his friends? He worries he won't have any chocolates left for himself if he shares. Parents and teachers say that Love Monster and The Last Chocolate is a lovely and engaging book. It makes a great Valentine's Day read-aloud!

by Rob Scotton


Lovable Splat the cat wants to become friends with Kitten, but he is too shy to talk to her. Valentine's Day might be the perfect opportunity to talk to Kitten. Love, Splat is an adorable book that's perfect for interactive storytime.

by Jo Witek

In My Heart is a New York Times bestselling picture book!

Feelings come in all shapes and sizes. Our hearts can feel so many feelings, some feelings make us feel as light as a feather, while other feelings make us feel as heavy as a house. In My Heart does a wonderful job of exploring and describing the wide range of emotions we feel. It is an excellent children's book to help children practice articulating and identifying their emotions.


by Marianne Richmond


A USA Today Bestseller!

I Love You Always is a perfect addition to your family library! Celebrate and explore with your child how love surrounds us no matter what we do or where we are.


by Diane Alber


From the A Little Spot of Emotions series comes A Little Spot of Love. Grow you Little Spot of Love. The Love Spot will guide you through all the ways you can express love. This book does a fantastic job at helping children visualize the emotion and learn how they can Grow Their Love Spot!


by Refiloe Moahloli

"We may be different, but our hearts beat the same"

Ubuntu comes from a South African belief that we are connected. No matter who or where we are, I am you and you are me. The illustrations are beautiful. The text is lyrical and simple. Both my children, ages 9 and 4, were captivated by the beauty in the texts and were intrigued by the idea that we are all connected. I Am You is a great addition to your classroom or homeschool library that brings a beautiful message about empathy, diversity, and self-love.

by April Martin

Meet February, she will teach you all about the month of February and all the things she loves, such as her pet Groundhog, her Black History Month studies, and making special Valentine's Day cards. February loves creating unique cards for her friends until one day she loses her cards. Will she be able to find them in time for Valentine's Day?

by Felicia Bond


"The Day It Rained Hearts" by Felicia Bond is a heartwarming and imaginative children's book that invites readers into the whimsical world of Cornelia Augusta. On a day unlike any other, hearts begin to fall from the sky, and Cornelia seizes the opportunity to turn each unique heart into a special Valentine's for her friends. With creativity and love, she discovers the joy of friendship and the magic that can happen when hearts connect.

by Drew Daywalt

Explore the world of Duncan's colorful crayon box, where each crayon has a unique way of expressing love. In this delightful sequel to "The Day the Crayons Quit," readers are treated to a spectrum of emotions and messages conveyed through the charming and vibrant crayon characters. From happy yellows to thoughtful blues, each crayon brings its special touch to the language of love.

by Samantha Berger

In this delightful picture book, readers are introduced to Crankenstein, a charmingly grumpy character who just can't seem to find joy in all the hearts and flowers around him. As Valentine's Day unfolds, Crankenstein's humorously cranky reactions to the lovey-dovey atmosphere create moments of pure comedic gold.


Happy Reading!

Click here to download our free February Reading List

February Reading list books for kids



203 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page